Some people watch the Super Bowl for the football. Some people watch the Super Bowl for the halftime show. Some people watch the Super Bowl for the commercials.

If you’re in that last category, welcome to the right place.

It’s become customary in recent years for companies to release their Super Bowl ads online prior to their actual airing during the game. Some may argue that this spoils the mystique and leads to anti-climactic viewing of the commercials, there’s still plenty of interest (and money) in advertising during the big game.

By virtue of being one of the single biggest sporting events each year, the Super Bowl has massive viewership — which also makes it one of the top marketing opportunities for different brands. With that in mind, advertising during the Super Bowl has become somewhat of a sporting event on its own. Brands try to one-up each other with the use of celebrities, humor, talking animals, talking babies, and other bizarre strategies to get people talking.

Here you can find some of the ads that you can expect to air during Super Bowl LIII between the Patriots and Rams on Sunday — which you can stream right here on CBSSports.com. (Continually updating.)

Pete Blackburn

Super Bowl 2019: What time does Super Bowl 53 start around the world?

We know what time Super Bowl 53 will kick off in the United States on Sunday, Feb. 3, 2019. That’s easy.

The AFC champion New England Patriots and the NFC champion Los Angeles Rams will meet at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Georgia, at 6:30 p.m. EST, or 5:30 CST, 4:30 MST, 3:30 PST, 2:30 p.m. in Alaska or 1:30 p.m. in Hawaii.

But what about the rest of the world?

The National Football League is fast becoming a global league, and the game will be broadcast overseas in many languages on Super Bowl Sunday.

Or Monday, depending on where you are.

So if you have ever wondered what time the Super Bowl will kick off in London, or Australia, or the Middle East, or China, or anywhere, you have come to the right place. We’ve done the math for you.

Here are a slew of local start times for Super Bowl 53 from around the globe.

SUPER BOWL 53 KICKOFF TIMES AROUND THE WORLD

Sunday, Feb. 3, 2019

MIDWAY ISLAND: 12:30 p.m.

MEXICO CITY, Mexico: 5:30 p.m.

BUENOS AIRES, Argentina: 8:30 p.m.

LONDON, England: 11:30 p.m.

** Monday, Feb. 5, 2018 **

BERLIN, Germany: 12:30 a.m.

PARIS, France: 12:30 a.m.

PRAGUE, Czech Republic: 12:30 a.m.

ROME, Italy: 12:30 a.m.

SARAJEVO, Bosnia-Herzegovina: 12:30 a.m.

ATHENS, Greece: 1:30 a.m.

CAPE TOWN, South Africa: 1:30 a.m.

CAIRO, Egypt: 1:30 a.m.

HARARE, Zimbabwe: 1:30 a.m.

JERUSALEM, Israel: 1:30 a.m.

BAGHDAD, Iraq: 2:30 a.m.

DOHA, Qatar: 2:30 a.m.

MOSCOW, Russia: 2:30 a.m.

RIYADH, Saudi Arabia: 2:30 a.m.

TEHRAN, Iran: 3:00 a.m.

KABUL, Afghanistan: 4:00 a.m.

NEW DELHI, India: 5:00 a.m.

HO CHI MINH CITY, Vietnam: 6:30 a.m.

BEIJING, China: 7:30 a.m.

PYONGYANG, North Korea: 8:00 a.m.

SEOUL, South Korea: 8:30 a.m.

TOKYO, Japan: 8:30 a.m.

SYDNEY, Australia: 10:30 a.m.

Super Bowl 2019: Patriots to face Rams in rematch of the 2002 title game that started New England dynasty

The New England Patriots are heading back to the Super Bowl (stream it right here on CBSSports.com) for the ninth time in the era of Bill Belichick and Tom Brady. The incredible run for coach and quarterback started way back in the 2001 season, when Brady took over for an injured Drew Bledsoe during the second game of the regular season, led the Pats to an 11-3 record in 14 starts then led the team to three consecutive playoff victories (with a little help from Bledsoe in the AFC title game) to capture the Patriots’ first Super Bowl title.

The opponent in that incredible 2002 Super Bowl victory was the St. Louis Rams, who boasted an offense that was better than any in the league. Kurt Warner. Marshall Faulk. Isaac Bruce. Torry Holt. They were damn near unstoppable. They were the Greatest Show on Turf. And the Patriots beat them, 20-17, on a last-second field goal by Adam Vinatieri.

In the ensuing years, the Patriots have become the greatest dynasty in football history. Since 2001, the Patriots have won 220 regular-season games — 32 more than any other team in the league. They have outscored their regular season opponents by 2,645 points — nearly twice as many as the next-closest team. They have won the AFC East an incredible 16 times, including a completely preposterous (and still active) streak of 10 in a row.

They have also had unparalleled playoff success during that time. New England is 29-10 in playoff games since 2001, which is the equivalent of being a 12-win team while playing another playoff team every single week of the season. They have almost twice as many playoff wins as the next closest team (the Steelers, at 15). The Patriots have won five Super Bowls during the Brady-Belichick era, the most recent of them just two years ago. They’ve lost three. No other team has even been to the Super Bowl more than three times during the same stretch since 2001.

On Feb. 3 in Atlanta, the Patriots will try once again for ring No. 6. And they’ll do it against the team that started the run in the first place: the Rams. They’ve moved from St. Louis to Los Angeles and not a single player or coach is left in the organization from the first time around, but it feels perfect to have Brady and Belichick still at the top of their respective games and taking on the same team that sent them on this ride in the first place.

They have to deal with a different, but still potent, Rams offense this time around. It’s once again led by a genius offensive coach, with Sean McVay now playing the role of Mike Martz. It once again features an incredibly talented running back (or two), with Todd Gurley and C.J. Anderson stepping in for Marshall Faulk. They have terrific receivers like Brandin Cooks and Robert Woods filling the roles of Bruce and Holt. And they have stars on defense like Aaron Donald and Ndamukong Suh and Aqib Talib and Marcus Peters and more.

This one should be a whole lot of fun.

Jared Dubin

CBS Sports Writer

 

 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *